Aurora house Party Celebrations and Eight things a Regency Lady needs to know about traveling at sea.

ar logoWelcome to my blog where we are joining in the Aurora House Party  celebrations. As an Aurora author I am …Picture2

Excuse me, Susan.  If I am not mistaken, you did say I could take over your blog for the night – after all I  am the person who experienced the adventures and romance in Only a Hero Will Do.  Therefore I am more suited to entertain at this Regency house party than you are. Go away and arrange the cake; I will look after  the visitors. Oh! Where are my guests precisely?

Okay,  Hetty,  you carry on. Trust me, they are out there listening, just talk – you’re good at that. But don’t give away too much of the plot before I come back.

Good! She has gone. I really do fear for my author. Did you know, dear guests, Susan’s ambition is to travel into space. Ha! What a strange thought. A coach that takes flight into the sky- without horses! I fear she has become quite addled brained.

I  hope she brings back some scones as  I have a weakness for scones. In fact I have a few weaknesses. Gambling is one – luckily I am very good at it. My scheming family do not realize that I am able to gain funds this way. Therefore you might say it is also a strength.

Another weakness is books. I do love books! I can never get enough of the exciting informative kind (if you understand my meaning). The attendant at the library back home always examined my choices, so they were limited to the mundane. However, whilst I was at sea, Dr Withington  lent me some books which were very informative.

But I must return our attentions to the blog where I will share  some useful tips about sea travel. I gained this knowledge when I inadvertently found myself sailing from Portsmouth to Gibraltar on board a Man of War.

Eight things a Regency Lady  needs to know about travelling (uninvited) on a naval ship.

IMG00094-20120427-1221

1. Make sure you know which is the leeward side (the sheltered side) of the ship. It is important to know which way the wind is blowing when you are prone to seasickness. It was a shame about Doctor Withington’s coat-but luckily it was only his second best.

2. Do not stray from the quarterdeck. The stern end is the civilized end of the ship. Although it is a lot more colorful down the pointed end.

3. Prepare for your sleep to be interrupted. The ringing of the ship’s bell and the beating of drums occur at regular and unsociable times.

4. Do not complain of boredom, believe me that is a good sign. If you see a French ship approaching things will get very unpleasant, and you will soon wish to be bored again.

5. If you have a chance to pack for the journey (which I did not) include warm clothing. Also a supply of lemon juice is useful to bathe freckles,which multiply like a plague of insects across your skin once exposed to the sea air.

6. Prepare to be stoic. You will witness the misery and sacrifice of war. Even If you are lucky enough to avoid battle, deaths on board from injury and disease occur frequently.

7  Do remember to knock the weevils from the ships biscuits, and do not try to cut biscuits into delicate pieces; they resist all attempts.

8. If there is a  tall, dark, sombre physician around, whose job it is to keep you out of trouble, and looks at you with eyes …  Oh, no – Susan is coming back with the cake.

There is much more to tell  dear guests, and if you  feel like indulging in a romantic adventure and discovering what happened during and after my unscheduled voyage, please take a look at Only a Hero Will Do. ( I haven’t even begun to tell you about Doctor Withington and you need to know about him.)

Only_a_Hero_Will_Do-200web

Hetty Avebury’s desperate gamble to avoid an odious match lands her all at sea. Can a stuffy ship’s physician really be the hero she needs to escape her treacherous family?.       

Marriage to a cruel dandy, is not how Hetty Avebury envisons spending the rest of her life.  Determined to avoid the match she raises funds the only way she knows how – gambling .Her plans go astray and she finds herself on board a man-of-war under the care of its high handed physician. But Hetty soon realizes that Doctor Withington is not quite the stuffed shirt she had first imagined.         

If it wasn’t bad enough declaring one of the pressed men as a woman, Robert has been tasked with the tiresome job of returning her safely back to her dysfunctional family. It was ten years ago when his father gambled away his inheritance, home, and any chance of marrying the woman he loved. So when Robert discovers Hetty gambling he takes drastic action to cure her of the habit.

Click here to read  excerpt

  See more at  Susan Lodge’s  Amazon page  or visit my website  susanlodge.com  or Musa Publishing   for full details of my books.

Also by Susan Lodge . The Man in the Buff Breeches (out 8th Nov 2013)  and The Man in the Blue Flowered shorts  (published July 2012) . Two contemporary  romantic novellas,  with characters who have a soft spot for the Regency period.

birthday-banner

 

 

8 thoughts on “Aurora house Party Celebrations and Eight things a Regency Lady needs to know about traveling at sea.

  1. Loved how your character took over, Susan! Very entertaining and smart! I see you’re having your cake and eating it too! Save me a piece, will ya? LOL! Best wishes in ALL your publishing endeavors! Cheers!

    Like

Leave a Reply

