Letters from Elsewhere: Jane Charlesworth

Excited at being featured on Miriam Drori’s great blog Letters from Elsewhere.

An' de walls came tumblin' down

Letters from Elsewhere

My visitor today is Jane Charlesworth, who has come from the pages of Rebellious Cargo by Susan Lodge to share three days from her journal, written whilst aboard the naval frigate HMS Serena.

The Aegean Sea.  Thursday 19th May 1803.

I felt like one of the cheese barrels when I was taken aboard the naval frigate today. Except that I have the feeling the cheese is viewed by the ship’s captain as a more welcome commodity. 

Captain Marston has shown little respect for my profession, my gender or my predicament and has made it clear I am a tiresome interruption to his schedule. His irritation I suspect is partly because my ship had managed to outmanoeuvre his attempts to track me down for the past week. The possibility that I would know these waters better than he is an impossible concept for him to swallow.

The stench and sounds of…

View original post 1,044 more words

Leave a Reply

